Course Description

The Melbourne experience enables our graduates to become specialists within their field, leaders in communities, attuned to cultural diversity and active global citizens.

Doctoral degrees at the University of Melbourne seek to develop graduates who demonstrate academic leadership, independence, creativity and innovation in their research.

The PhD thesis differs from a research Masters thesis mainly by its deeper and more comprehensive treatment of the chosen subject. The normal length of a PhD thesis is 80,000 words. Footnotes are included as part of the word limit.

Areas of Study

The Faculty of Science offers Doctor of Philosophy - Science in one of seven areas of science:

  • BioSciences
  • Chemistry
  • Earth Sciences
  • Ecosystem and Forest Science
  • Geography
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Physics

Areas of Research

Researchers in the Faculty of Science conduct high quality research in the physical and biological sciences, focused around ten themes. Please visit the Faculty of Science website to see the breadth and depth of science research.

Research Themes

Course Structure

The degree of Doctor of Philosophy signifies that the holder has undertaken a substantial piece of original research, which has been conducted and reported by the holder under proper academic supervision and in a research environment for a prescribed period.

Global Opportunities - Joint PhDs

The University of Melbourne offers several joint PhD programmes with international universities.

The Melbourne-Potsdam PhD programme

A joint PhD programme between the University of Melbourne, the Max Planck Institute of Molecular Plant Physiology, and the University of Potsdam, Germany

Find out more

The Melbourne-India Postgraduate Program (MIPP)

Provides opportunities for students who studied at partner insitutions to work with University of Melbourne academics. Our Indian partners are Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, Indian Institute of Science Bangalore, and Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur. The program is now extended to Sri Lanka.

Find out more

Next : Entry requirements

Have a question? Make an enquiry

Thank you for your enquiry. One of our staff members will be in contact within the next three business days.